*note: these are my opinions, no need to agree or disagree, just hear another voice in regards to this subject*
So after almost a month of popularity, I've finally been nominated, and here are my gripes with this challenge.
Why is it that I'm an asshole or bitter for not wanting to do the ALS Ice Bucket Challenge? (Or why is anyone who doesn't want to do it, wrong?)
I am not against raising money or awareness for ALS (a.k.a Lou Gehrig's Disease), you can't take away the fact that they've raised millions of dollars (mostly I'm sure thanks to celebrities getting involved) but I'm against the fact that people are being pressured to donate or to be involved. It's almost threatening, "dump freezing water or you have to donate". I thought charitable organizations are supposed to be about giving and wanting to help out?
What about every other deadly disease? They're all being ignored because ALS is gaining all of social media's attention. My entire Facebook feed is videos of people drenched. Status updates of people fighting over doing it or not doing. I'm sick of the debates. Also this whole having to video yourself is somewhat selfish. It's just a way to put attention on yourself and not ALS. How many of you actually went and looked at the ALS research foundation to see what they do? FYI if you're Pro-Life you may not necessarily want to donate to the ALSA because one of their biggest research projects involves the use of stem cells. (The Catholic Church relates the use of embryonic stem cells in research to abortion and says it violates the sanctity of human life.)
Don't lie, I'm sure a lot of you are just watching the videos of people sopping wet to see their reactions. Not to mention all the "fails", there are millions of views on YouTube of people getting seriously hurt from dumping or dropping buckets on themselves or one another, or people slipping and smashing their faces on the ground. Where's the good in that?
Another thing, after watching any of the videos, I don’t know anything more about ALS than I did before. How about telling me what it is? How about including a link with the video? Or telling me what YOUR connection is? Are you doing this just because you were challenged, or you know someone? Give me some information on this disease...that’s how awareness spreads.
Why does donating have to involve humiliating ourselves? Why can't we just give some money. ALSA takes donations as low as $5. If every person just donated $5 instead of wasting time and water, they'd still raise tons of money. So far it just seems like a popularity stunt to feel cold, wet, and uncomfortable (assuming you aren't one of the people who had an accident while doing this) and then to choose 3 other friends or family members and keep the chain going. It's become trendy because of this selfie-loving, internet-attached generation.
Now what about the drought in California? People are wasting fresh water, while the state of California is being forced to limit their water use because of the drought. There are wildfires spreading, destroying trees and homes. This challenge may actually be aiding the drought for those in California. This Ice Bucket Challenge has done some great things for ALS, but water - our most precious natural resource, and one that some areas of the country (other than Cali) and many parts of the world are in desperate need of.
It's a little ironic that people are calling others out to dump ice on their heads or donate, meanwhile they probably didn't even donate themselves. It's great to come up with a unique way to do it––run, walk, dance, or whatever––but to burden someone else changes the dynamic of gift giving.You're supposed to give because you want to, not because you feel pressured too.
Why don't you just donate to something you believe in? Something that you support or has some connection to you? I recently donated and joined the Voices Against Brain Cancer campaign and did the walk in Central Park. But I didn't do it because I was told i had to, I did it because a friend of mine lost her father to brain cancer. Earlier in the year I donated to a little girl who was suddenly and unexpectedly diagnosed with cancer––the girl is the daughter of my boyfriend's friend. Connections. They mean something. Give something through your own motivations, not because you're being called out on the internet.
Why am I wrong for not wanting to do it? I don't want to because I feel like I'm being pressured or forced. If anything I'd rather do it (or some other thing) for an illness/cause that I believe in.
My cousin (the one who has nominated me) has one up'd the situation by bringing this to attention: During his challenge, he dumped two buckets on himself. One for ALS, the other for all other genetic diseases. Props to him, because I know what he's talking about. Kidney disease. The genetic illness that claimed the life of our grandmother, aunt, and now his mother is currently battling the early stages. He has already been tested to see if he has it, he does not, and I know that I'm at the age that I will need to be tested for it soon. Donating to the National Kidney Foundation is something I can get behind, because it's effected me. The American Cancer Society is another, because it's effected members of my family, friends, and other people I know. And I'll do it because I want to, not because it's the social trend.
So what this all boils down to, is do what you want. Dump water on yourself or don't. Donate money to ALS or don't. Donate to some other cause or don't do anything. And don't hate on those doing or not doing the challenge. Just do you.
**needless to say, i did do the challenge. But not just for ALS, but for ALL Genetic Diseases. Video proof is on my Facebook.**
**needless to say, i did do the challenge. But not just for ALS, but for ALL Genetic Diseases. Video proof is on my Facebook.**
No comments:
Post a Comment