Why is it that you need to scream at the innocent employee for the entire store to hear?
Do you really think that by being nasty to people is going to get you anywhere?
I was in the DMV the other day when this man started yelling at the poor woman behind the counter, he was so loud the entire population turned to stare at him. It was like right after lunchtime too, so the place was packed. I mean seriously, everyone is irritated when they go to the DMV because there's always a huge wait and like 3 people working. But it's expected, so you should prepare yourself to go there.
So this man got me thinking, especially for anyone who works (or has worked) in retail I'm sure you've got your share of horror story customers. You know, the ones who get nasty at you when you don't make the rules, you just enforce them. The ones who think you don't know what you're doing, so they need to see a supervisor or manager. And then when said supervisor or manager comes over and repeats what you say, they raise their voice, curse, and draw attention to themselves from other customers/employees.
I DON'T UNDERSTAND WHY PEOPLE THINK IF THEY START FLIPPING OUT THEY'LL GET WHAT THEY WANT!
It's ridiculous. There's no need to disrespect another human being because you're outside of a return policy or don't have the right paperwork, didn't give yourself enough time to run an errand (like why would you do it on your lunch break, you're already pressed for time), or whatever the reason.
I hate when people give in though. Just because they're acting like a psycho doesn't mean you should misplace your self respect. I refuse to help people like that, I don't give in to what they want. The people who do, often times just do it to get them to leave. But you know what that teaches? Nothing! So the next time the same person has an issue, they're just gonna piss and moan to get what they want.
I've never worked in a restaurant (unless you count Cold Stone Creamery when I was like 16), so I could only imagine how that can be....Then again, don't mess with people who deal with your food. (I know I don't want spit or anything worse in my dinner)
Now to be totally honest, not everyone is like this. Most people in fact are calm or understanding. It's just the few that act this way, that make me angry. It's upsetting too, when you're the one getting screamed at for just doing your job. I thought the woman at the DMV was going to cry. I mean the guy wasn't yelling at her directly, it was the DMV he was pissed off at, but she was taking the brunt of this strangers frustration.
Moral of this rant –– be more understanding and respectful of each other.
I think with technology, people are losing their sense of compassion. Everything is done through a computer or phone, we're forgetting about feelings, not our own, but that others have feelings too.
No comments:
Post a Comment